top of page
  • Writer's pictureJulie Hauswirth

Creator Interview PLUS Giveaway: Brandy Bellittera

Kidlit Author, Mother, Kindergarten Teacher, Animal Lover... Brandy does it ALL!


It's time for the first Creator Interview of 2024!


I'm so honored to call Brandy my friend. We met through Mighty Kidlit and became critique partners about a year ago. Brandy is a talented writer who leans into her 15 years of experience as a kindergarten teacher and her life as a mom of 3 to create stories for children that resonate with emotional authenticity and a tender voice that invites the reader to connect with the characters.


A smiling woman kneels beside a calf.

Brandy has been writing kidlit for almost four years. She writes picture books and chapter books as well as adult novels and is seeking representation. Her work has been published in Little Thoughts Press (twice!) and Cricket's Spider Magazine. She is also a 2024 12x12 Challenge Gold Scholarship Recipient and the grand prize winner of Hollie Wolverton's #FirstDraftFriday challenge in 2023!


Brandy is generously offering one reader a choice of either a query critique or a manuscript critique! Details on how to enter at the bottom of this post!

"I am finally grasping tight to my dream. And this time, I will not ever let it go."
 

How did your journey as a KidLit creator begin?

I have always wanted to be an author.


The passion I felt for books grabbed be at a young age, and has yet to waver. I cleaned out my closet to make my own “Reading Cave” where I would hide for hours, with my favorite blanket and my cats, devouring as many books as I could. It was pure bliss. It became my escape. My way to cope with demons I did not yet fully understand.


My passion has not abated. I still to this day never leave my house without a book (or two!) in my bag.


Not only was I a reader, I would write stories when I was younger, and give them to friends and family as gifts.


In high school and college, I took as many creative writing courses as I could get my hands on. But then the pesky Imposter Syndrome roared it‘s fat, ugly head and I gave up on the writing.


In the end, I graduated with my Elementary Education degree, following in my late Momma’s footsteps. It is a decision I have not regretted. The experiences I have with my students every year and the people I have met along the way have helped shaped me to be a better person, and mother.


I may have let the writing dream go back then, but the dream never let ME go.


After many challenges I have faced and have done my best to overcome, I decided it was time about two years ago. Since starting my journey, I have made some really incredible connections with fellow writers. In the last few years, I have grown as a person, and as a writer. I still struggle often, but I have people in my corner that I can rely on, and trust. And that feels more incredible than can describe. I am finally grasping tight to my dream. And this time, I will not ever let it go.


This is an industry full of high highs and low lows. What are some of the peaks and valleys you've experienced in your career?

The peaks have come when I have had stories accepted for publication. When I meet a fellow writer with similar passions that help keep me motivated.


Truthfully, the valleys hit hard, frequently and with no end in sight. I have come so close to finding the perfect agent, but just can’t seem to get over the finish line. I have had some R&R opportunities, and a good handful of champagne rejections, but haven’t been quite ‘good enough’. YET. I know my perfect match is out there. The timing hasn’t been right. I have to be patient while we both discover each other.


Do you have a "day job"? If so, what is it, and how do you create balance between your "day job" and your work as a creator?

I do! I have been a Kindergarten Teacher for 15 years now. I also work after school by tutoring and working in our after school program. Between work and my three kids, I am a very busy lady! I have tried a lot of ways to create a perfect balance. And I have learned that there never will be perfection in this area. There is always going to be something I need to do, or somewhere I need to be.


Lately, I have been giving myself a lot of grace. I set writing goals for myself each week, and do my very best to meet them. I now always carry a notebook with me to write ideas on the go. I also find pockets of time in which I can sit and really focus on one of my manuscripts. This could be during my lunchtime at school, while my kids are in the bathtub, or finding a babysitter for a few hours. The balance ebbs and flows, but I always keep at it, and do my very best!


Describe your perfect writing/illustrating/creating day.

I love working at my ‘office space’ at home, but it comes with a LOT of distractions. The best is when I can pack up some of my writing tools and find a quiet place to be creative. My current favorite is our local book store. It is warm and inviting, usually full with a lot of other creatives like myself. There is just something special about being surrounded by that warmth, the smell of coffee and brand new books, that really gets my creative juices flowing. I often work for several hours before taking a stretch break. I love to mosey around looking through different book sections for hidden gems. Later, I move outside in the courtyard and continuing working. I always reward myself after a great writing day, whether it is a pedicure, or an hour of browsing the aisles at Target.


What motivates you to keep going when this industry gets you down?

HOPE.


Glimmers are the opposite of triggers. A glimmer is a tiny, micro-moment of happiness—a sign of HOPE. Once you begin to look for them, they will start to appear EVERYWHERE.


What is a favorite craft tip you'd like to share with other creators?

I have recently discovered an online writing tool, called Hemingway Editor. Ya’ll…it is seriously SO GREAT! I can simply copy and paste my text into the editor and it will break it down for me with a lot of great insight related to: reading level, word count, adverb usage, passive voice usage, as well as identifying sentences that are hard to read and need attention. You can find it at: https://hemingwayapp.com


What are your top 3 favorite books of all time (any age range)?

The Harry Potter series found me when I needed them the most. The escape they provided is something I will always be grateful for. These books will always be my number one favorites. My absolute favorite is The Prisoner of Azkaban.


Horrible Bear by Ame Dyckman is a favorite picture book. I love the simplicity, the characters and the SEL hook. I LOVE reading it aloud to my students. It is often a requested favorite, thanks to my performance. ;)


Knuffle Bunny is another favorite picture book. Mo’s books are a staple in my classroom. I can use them in so many different ways, but our favorite as a classroom family, is to read them for FUN! This story is requested often!


Who are some authors or illustrators that inspired your style as a creator?

Ame Dyckman, Ryan T. Higgins, Caron Levis, Sophie Kinsella, Erin Hildebrand, Mo Willems, Emily Henry.


What advice do you have for someone considering starting their journey as a KidLit creator?

It is NEVER too late to start pursuing your dreams. Once you decided to go for it, do not back down. Do not give up. One step at a time, one word at a time. Advice from a turtle: Your speed doesn’t matter, forward is forward.


Speed Round: This or That!

Let us get to know you better! You must pick ONE- no "I don't know" or "neither" allowed! Ready... Go!

Summer or Winter?

​Summer

Chocolate or Vanilla?

Chocolate

Cats or Dogs?

Dogs

Playlists or Podcasts?

Playlists

Text or Call?

Text

Unicorn or Dragon?

Dragon

Ice Cream or Cake?

Ice Cream

Physical Books or E-Books?

Physical Books

Coffee or Tea?

Tea

Sunrise or Sunset?

Sunset

It's Giveaway Time!

Brandy is generously offering one lucky winner their choice of a query critique or a manuscript critique! To enter the giveaway, comment on this post with your name and email address so we can contact you if you win!


For an extra entry, share this post on Twitter (X)!


That's it! The giveaway closes on Tuesday, January 30th at 11:59pm EST!


Be sure to connect with Brandy! Visit her website or follow her on social media @InkedAuthor31!


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page