top of page
  • Writer's pictureJulie Hauswirth

Creator Interview PLUS Giveaway: Humera Malik

Award-Winning Children's Author and Found of the South Asian Scribe Squad!


I "met" Humera on Twitter, the same place I've found many new friends in my writing journey. We crossed paths when she launched the South Asian Scribe Squad- I loved watching their initiative unfold and seeing new connections form within the writing community. When Humera agreed to do an interview with me, I was so excited and I'm honored to share her publishing journey here!


Humera began her writing career 8 years ago by self publishing. Her work has recieved several awards and recognition: she was runner up for The Golden Egg Picture Book Awards 2023, and PBParty 2023. One of herpicture books was listed as Top 150 Superstar Books by Ivy's Library in 2021. She also received the award of Best of Children's Non Fiction Books in 2022 from the Muslim Book Reviewers.


Humera writes picture books and middle grade, and she is represented by Erin Casey Westin at Gallt & Zacker Literary Agency. Her picture book THE GREAT HENNA PARTY publishes on March 5th, 2024 and is available for pre-order!


Humera is generously offering one lucky reader a picture book manuscript critique (non-rhyming, <800 words)! Read through the interview for details on how to enter!


"I love creating books that will build empathy in children by showing them a different point of view."

How did your journey as a KidLit creator begin?

When I decided to leave teaching to stay at home with my young children, I knew that I still wanted a creative outlet and an identity separate from 'mother'. I was also aware of the lack of picture books in which my children would see themselves and so I started writing for them.


What is your favorite thing about creating for children?

My favorite thing about writing for children has to be the hope it gives me for the next generation. I love creating books that will build empathy in children, by showing them a different point of view.


This is an industry full of high highs and low lows. What are some of the peaks and valleys you've experienced in your career?

It is definitely a challenging industry. Being in the querying trenches is tough! I once received a rejection from an agent, on the very day I queried them, and they mentioned they didn't even read my manuscript. But the peak came shortly after when the same manuscript was picked up by a publisher who I had always dreamed of working with! I am now lucky to be represented by a fantastic agent and we signed a brand new book deal last week. I can't wait to share more about it soon!


Do you have a "day job"? If so, what is it, and how do you create balance between your "day job" and your work as a creator?

I am currently teaching at elementary schools.


Describe your perfect writing/illustrating/creating day.

My perfect writing day would start off with a walk out in nature. I would then stop by at a local coffee shop and order an extra hot coffee and a warm breakfast before starting my writing. I need relative quiet while I write so after a few hours, once the coffee shop becomes busier, I would walk back home and set up at our dinner table where I would continue to write until the end of the children's school day. I like to keep some things around me when I write, an 'I love you' note from my son and some leaves that the children gift me with every morning, so I don't forget them while they are at school!


What motivates you to keep going when this industry gets you down?

Focusing on my goal. I didn't see myself in the books I read while I was growing up, and that is a huge factor in helping me choose what to write about. So on the hard days, I try to focus on the children who need these stories. I also love to visit the library and look at all the wonderful diverse picture books that are on the shelves now and find that this always renews my hope.


What is a favorite craft tip you'd like to share with other creators?

Read, read, read!


What are your top 3 favorite books of all time (any age range)?

This is an almost impossible question to answer. Kind by Alison Green (each page is illustrated by a different artist which makes this book so unique.) Proudest Blue by Ibtihaj Mohammad and Have You Filled a Bucket Today? by Carol McCloud.


Who are some authors or illustrators that inspired your style as a creator?

Sophie Blackall and Hena Khan who are both wonderful storytellers.


What advice do you have for someone considering starting their journey as a KidLit creator?

Spend some time perfecting your work and then take every chance you get. Once I was ready, I participated in all Twitter pitch events I could, and I sought out publishers who were accepting unagented manuscripts.


I would also recommend joining a critique group, receiving feedback on manuscripts is very helpful, but it is also nice to make friends with similar goals. I love cheering on my other group members and they have always been very supportive.


Thank you for taking the time to let us get to know more about you and your journey to publication!


Speed Round: This or That!

Let us get to know you better! You must pick ONE- no "I don't know" or "neither" allowed! Ready... Go!

Summer or Winter?

Winter

Chocolate or Vanilla?

Chocolate

Cats or Dogs?

Cats

Playlists or Podcasts?

Podcasts

Text or Call?

Text

Unicorn or Dragon?

Unicorn

Ice Cream or Cake?

Cake

Physical Books or E-Books?

Physical Books

Coffee or Tea?

Coffee

Sunrise or Sunset?

Sunrise

It's Giveaway Time!

Humera is generously offering one lucky winner a picture book manuscript critique (non-rhyming, <800 words)! To enter the giveaway, comment on this post with your name and email address so we can contact you if you win!


For an extra entry, share this post on Twitter (X)!


That's it! The giveaway closes on Tuesday, December 20th at 11:59pm EST!


Be sure to connect with Humera! Visit her website or follow her on Twitter @HumeraMalik_ and Instagram @humeramalik_author!


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page