top of page
  • Writer's pictureJulie Hauswirth

Creator Interview PLUS a Giveaway: Lori Keating

Multi-Genre Author of the upcoming Picture Book THE MEMORY QUILT!


Lori Keating smiles.

Lori is a talented multi-genre author who writes picture books, chapter books, middle grade, and young adult. 2024 will be a busy year for Lori: her debut picture book, THE MEMORY QUILT, will be released on January 9th, 2024 with Caterpillar Books, and her YA novel BUTTERFLY INK will be published by Monarch Press in June. Lori's middle grade novel, ANGELS IN THE SAND, will be released in January 2025 with Caterpillar Books!


If you're active in the KidLit community on Twitter (X), you've probably seen one of Lori's inspirational posts or even entered the #midweekcritique drawing she hosts with April Berry, Elizabeth James, and Christine Alemshah! Lori's writing has earned recognition in the writing community, including an honorable mention in the KidLit Vibes Writing Contest 2022 and Kailei Pew's Kid's Choice KidLit Writing Contest 2023.



I was lucky enough to grab an ARC of THE MEMORY QUILT, and I was blown away by Lori's ability to tackle a sensitive topic with kid-friendly tenderness. Her book is available for pre-order here.


Lori is generously offering one lucky reader their choice of a query critique, manuscript critique, or a copy of her book THE MEMORY QUILT! Read on for details on how to enter!



"Connecting with like-minded writers who are eager to encourage and motivate you throughout your journey can make all the difference."
 

How did your journey as a KidLit creator begin?

My journey as a kidlit creator started in fourth grade when I entered a writing contest at my elementary school. I submitted a story called "Sally's Dream," which won and earned me a trip to a Young Author convention. It was there that I heard Shel Silverstein's "The Giving Tree" read aloud and knew that someday I wanted to create stories that would capture the hearts of children.


A page from THE MEMORY QUILT. Grace and Jason jump into a pile of leaves.

What is your favorite thing about creating for children?

My favorite aspect of writing for children is the possibility of evoking emotions they have never experienced before, educating them on something they were unaware of, or offering them a chance to escape to a new and exciting place they've never been before.


This is an industry full of high highs and low lows. What are some of the peaks and valleys you've experienced in your career?

Like most writers, I've had my fair share of ups and downs on the road to getting published. Even as I continue to query more stores, I still experience them. The flat-out rejections can be disheartening, but the offers for publication make it all worthwhile. That feeling of finally being published makes all those rejections from the past seem insignificant.


Do you have a "day job"? If so, what is it, and how do you create balance between your "day job" and your work as a creator?

I am fortunate enough to be a full-time creator and do not have a traditional day job.


Describe your perfect writing/illustrating/creating day.

For me, the concept of a perfect writing day is dependent on what type of project I'm working on. When working on a novel, my ideal day is when I set a daily word count goal and achieve it. If I'm writing a picture book, my perfect writing day is when all the necessary elements of the story come together seamlessly. And on certain occasions, having a day where I can complete all of the necessary revisions is the ultimate achievement.


A page from THE MEMORY QUILT. Grace's mother kisses her head as they stitch the quilt together.

What motivates you to keep going when this industry gets you down?

When the industry gets me down, I remind myself of the important things that keep me going. My supportive husband and daughter are always there to help, and my writing community of friends and CPs continuously encourage me. Moreover, the hope of future publications inspires me to keep pushing forward.


What is a favorite craft tip you'd like to share with other creators?

Crafting can be a fantastic way to unwind, but sometimes it can feel like too much. If you're feeling overwhelmed, it's okay to take a break from your craft. There's no need to feel guilty, just take the time you need to recharge and return to your project when you feel ready. On the other hand, if you have an abundance of ideas, it can be helpful to prioritize. For me, I make a list of the stories that feel most developed in my mind and start with those. This way, I can stay focused and continue down the list in a systematic manner.


What are your top 3 favorite books of all time (any age range)?

Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers, Charlotte's Web by E.B. White, and The Giving Tree by Shel Silverstein


Who are some authors or illustrators that inspired your style as a creator?

E.B. White, Judy Blume, Shel Silverstein, C.S. Lewis, Kate DiCamillo


A page from THE MEMORY QUILT. Grace holds up the quilt and examines it.

What advice do you have for someone considering starting their journey as a KidLit creator?

If you're new to writing, my top recommendation is to find a supportive community. Connecting with like-minded writers who are eager to encourage and motivate you throughout your journey can make all the difference. There are many ways to do this, including joining SCBWI, the 12 x 12 Challenge, critique partner groups, and even social media.


Thank you so much for sharing your journey with us, Lori! I can't wait to see your books out in the wild!



Speed Round: This or That!

Let us get to know you better! You must pick ONE- no "I don't know" or "neither" allowed! Ready... Go!

Summer or Winter?

Summer

Chocolate or Vanilla?

Chocolate

Cats or Dogs?

Cats

Playlists or Podcasts?

Playlists

Text or Call?

Text

Unicorn or Dragon?

Unicorn

Ice Cream or Cake?

Cake

Physical Books or E-Books?

Physical Books

Coffee or Tea?

Coffee

Sunrise or Sunset?

Sunset

It's Giveaway Time!

Lori is generously offering one lucky winner their choice of a query critique, manuscript critique, or a copy of her book THE MEMORY QUILT! To enter the giveaway, comment on this post with your name and email address so we can contact you if you win!


For an extra entry, share this post on Twitter (X)!


That's it! The giveaway closes on Tuesday, January 2nd at 11:59pm EST!


Be sure to connect with Lori! Visit her website or follow her on social media (Twitter/IG) @LoriMKeating!


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page