top of page
  • Writer's pictureJulie Hauswirth

Creator Interview PLUS Giveaway: Kailei Pew!

Host of the Kid's Choice KidLit Writing Contest & Co-Founder of the PBRisingStars Mentorship Program!


I can't believe I have THE Kailei Pew on my blog today. When I first began my own journey as a KidLit creator, my search for community lead me to Kailei's blog, where I found her Kid's Choice KidLit Writing Contest and immediately entered. It was my first contest and I didn't place, but it was the very first step I took in finding my KidLit people and becoming active in the KidLit community.

Cover of THE MONSTER ABOVE THE BED. Peeking out from under a bed, a blue monster with polka dots, one eye, and a flower in her hair points up at a human child sitting on top of a bed. The monster is afraid.

Since then, I've followed Kailei's journey closely and applied to be part of her Street Team to help promote her debut, THE MONSTER ABOVE THE BED. I'm so excited that Kailei agreed to an interview on my blog and I'm honored to help share her journey to publication with you!


Kailei has three traditionally published picture books coming out between now and May 2024 PLUS three work for hire projects. She's the co-founder of the PBRisingStars Mentorship program along with Ebony Lynn Mudd, and in addition to running the Kid's Choice Writing Contest, she also hosted a super fun kid's writing challenge over the summer, which my own kiddo had a blast participating in. Kailei is represented by Emily Forney of BookEnds Literary Agency, and is currently writing, revising, and on submission!


Kailei is generously offering one lucky winner their choice of a PB manuscript critique OR a copy of THE MONSTER ABOVE THE BED and book swag! Read through to the end for details on how to enter this amazing giveaway!


"It’s a long and emotional path, but one that’s worth the effort."
 

How did your journey as a KidLit creator begin?

I had wanted to write a picture book for years and honestly just jumped right in. I didn’t know a thing about how to craft a picture book (and it showed! Haha). But I quickly realized I didn’t know what I was doing and took the time to learn my craft and do it right.


What is your favorite thing about creating for children?

Knowing that I’m working for kids. Writing words that they will love and cherish means so much. I can’t wait to go into schools and be with the kids I write for!


This is an industry full of high highs and low lows. What are some of the peaks and valleys you've experienced in your career?

Great question. It really is such a roller coaster! I would say a high was the first year after signing with my agents. We sold so many books. Three traditionally published books, all to dream publishers, plus two work for hire projects that I was thrilled with. It seemed like such a dream after years of nos. But the low would be the two years that have followed. It’s been a ton of rejection and second guessing myself. Lots of close calls, but ultimately, I haven’t sold a book in 2 full years. That makes you wonder if you’re really cut out for this industry. If those early sales were just flukes. But you have to keep putting in the work and keep moving forward. I’m headed to acquisitions again this month, so crossing all my fingers and toes there. But if anyone else out there is in a low period, just keep going. We need to believe in ourselves and kids need our books!


Do you have a "day job"? If so, what is it, and how do you create balance between your "day job" and your work as a creator?

My “day job” is motherhood! Haha. But truly, it’s a 24 hour gig. Thankfully, I have an extremely supportive spouse and we divide household tasks so that I can write/work on book things during the full day while my kids are at school. Then as soon as they’re home I can turn my attention to them and do the homework, music practice, dance class, etc. routine. I sleep less than I should, but I love everything I do!


Describe your perfect writing/illustrating/creating day.

Hmm… that’s a tough one. Because my days are always a bit jumbled. But my favorite days look something like:

Get the kids off to school

Go on a walk or jog

Work on something new while my mind is fresh

Edit and revise an old project

Spend some time on website/social media/marketing things

And grab some chocolate right before the whirlwind of kids coming home! Haha.


What motivates you to keep going when this industry gets you down?

Great question. I guess my long term vision for my career. I want to be in this for the long game. I want to be one who publishes 30+ books over a lifetime career. I want to make a difference in the lives of children. I want to do what I love for a long time. So when things get tough, I just remember that I’ll never get there if I don’t keep creating. This can’t be a career if I don’t TREAT it like a career.


What is a favorite craft tip you'd like to share with other creators?

Try writing your manuscripts from a new point of view. You may never use it, but I consistently learn something new about a character, fix a plot point, or see things from a new vantage point when I do. And ALWAYS look for layers in your picture books. This is a tough market to be in. Layers and multiple hooks are what will make a book stand out (but never force it!)


What are your top 3 favorite books of all time (any age range)?

Oh this question is mean. I could never choose only three. So I’ll have to do some favorite current reads. I’m reading the Percy Jackson series with my oldest now, so that’s been incredibly fun to revisit and definitely a current favorite. Then I’d say That Flag is a current favorite picture book, and When You Can Swim is another current fave. So hard to narrow down though!


Who are some authors or illustrators that inspired your style as a creator?

Kate Messner is a huge inspiration for me because she is so versatile, writing in multiple genres, just like I want to.


What advice do you have for someone considering starting their journey as a KidLit creator?

It’s a long and emotional path, but one that’s worth the effort. Take your time to learn your craft well and then write, write, write, write! (And read just as much!)


Kailei, THANK YOU for taking the time to be here! I know that so many readers will appreciate your insight and are rooting for you. Congratulations on your debut!


Speed Round: This or That!

Let us get to know you better! You must pick ONE- no "I don't know" or "neither" allowed! Ready... Go!

Summer or Winter?

Summer

Chocolate or Vanilla?

Chocolate

Playlists or Podcasts?

Podcasts

Text or Call?

Text

Unicorn or Dragon?

Unicorn

Ice Cream or Cake?

Ice Cream

Physical Books or E-Books?

Physical Books

Sunrise or Sunset?

Sunset

It's Giveaway Time!

Kailei is generously offering one lucky winner their choice of a PB manuscript critique (<1000 words, non-rhyming) OR a copy of THE MONSTER ABOVE THE BED plus book swag! To enter the giveaway, comment on this post with your name and email address so we can contact you if you win!


For an extra entry, leave a review of THE MONSTER ABOVE THE BED on Amazon or Goodreads (up to 2 extra entries if you do both!). Just be sure to include in your comment that you submitted a review!


Here are the links to review:


That's it! The giveaway closes on Tuesday, November 7th at 11:59pm EST.


Be sure to connect with Kailei by visiting her website: Kaileipewbooks.com, following her on Twitter: @kaileipew, and on instagram: @kaileipewbooks!

12 Comments


Nicole Garnett
Nicole Garnett
Nov 08, 2023

Love this interview! Heard the book on story time sprint and reviewed then, but it's amazing! Can't wait to get my copy! Thanks for the opportunity.

Nicole Garnett: nicolegarnett2015@gmail.com

Like

Erin Siska
Erin Siska
Nov 07, 2023

Great interview! Can’t wait to read this book, it looks adorable! ❤️

Like

Stephanie Henson
Stephanie Henson
Nov 07, 2023

Congrats! I’d love a copy of this book! I admire Kailei and everything she does for the kidlit community!


Stephanie Henson

stephahenson@msn.com

Like

Ellen Meeks
Ellen Meeks
Nov 06, 2023

I love hearing her perspective. And even thought about a story I should apply her advice to. I have a story told by one character and I think maybe I'll flip the perspective and tell it from another character's perspective and see what happens.


Congrats Kailei on a wonderful debut picture book.

Like

cheryl simon
cheryl simon
Nov 02, 2023

I always love a Kailei Pew interview! I love the new point of view tip. I don't do that enough. Thanks for sharing!


Cheryl Simon, cherylmsimon@gmail.com

Like
cheryl simon
cheryl simon
Nov 07, 2023
Replying to

I forgot to mention that I submitted a review on Amazon and goodreads.

Like
bottom of page