top of page
  • Writer's pictureJulie Hauswirth

Haus-Hold Picture Book Review: Skrum

A Journey around the World that Isn't what it Seems...


Book Cover: An old man, a vulture, and a snake peer out from the jaws of a fluffy purple monster.

My "big kid", as I refer to him here, is starting to outgrow picture books... sigh. He still enjoys reading them with me now that I'm writing my own, and he's becoming interested in the craft, but he's definitely moving on to more advanced reading. That said, I believe picture books are for everyone, and I'll always encourage him to read them if he wants to!


Skrum is one of those picture books that totally works for the older kids. Right away, the illustrations reminded him of cartoons he likes to watch, like Gumball or Big City Greens, so he was interested right away. He read it aloud to his little brother, and a great time was had by all. I'm thankful that these moments still exist in our family, and I sure do love the books that make these moments possible.


"Written in rhyme with funny, kid-centric dialogue, the story is easy and fun to read aloud."

Synopsis


Sir Barnabus has been running for over 300 days, trying desperately to evade a giant purple Skrum that has chased him all over the earth. But when the Skrum swallows Sir Barnabus' new friends whole, he soon learns that this chase isn't what he thought it was.


My Big Kid’s Honest Review:

Haus-hold picture book review kid questionnaire. The words that describe this book are: funny and rhyming. The ending... made me laugh! What stood out to you the most? Characters and Pictures. What was your favorite thing about this book? I liked the vulture and the snake.

What my Kids Loved: Both of my boys loved the illustrations the most. Reminiscent of the cartoons they love, the pictures pulled them into the story and made them laugh. Written in rhyme with funny, kid-centric dialogue, the story is easy and fun to read aloud. My big kid read it to my little kid, and they both remained invested in the story until the very end.


What I Loved: As a mom, I enjoyed the message that things aren't always what they seem. The story invited my oldest son to think about times where he might have jumped to conclusions and re-evaluate how we process situations as they unfold. I was also delighted that this book was a fun read for both of my children despite their age gap- the toddler enjoyed listening, and the upper-elementary kiddo enjoyed reading it to his brother.


As a writer, I appreciated Gumz's use of dialogue to engage the reader and make them laugh. Lines like "There's a Skrum on me bum!" and "What's wrong with this dude?" were hits and my son had a blast reading them out loud in funny voices. The use of speech bubbles to convey voice throughout the text was an excellent choice in terms of connecting with the child reader.


My favorite lines:


The creatures were baffled.

"There's a what on your bum?"

"Behind you, daft snake!

A big, purple Skrum!"


Final thoughts: This book combines the perfect amount of silliness, adventure, cleverness, and surprise to create a story that is fun to read aloud and conveys an important message. Perfect for big kids and little kids, Skrum is a must-read!


You can request Skrum from your local library or purchase from Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and other retailers- but don't forget to check your local independent bookstore first!

1 Comment


Bri Lawyer
Bri Lawyer
Apr 26

Sounds so fun!

Like
bottom of page