top of page
  • Writer's pictureJulie Hauswirth

Haus-Hold Picture Book Review: SO MUCH SLIME

A Spectacular STEAM Read-Aloud!


Book Cover: A boy stretches green slime. Behind him, his classmates smile and play with slime.

I recently shared an interview with author Jason Lefebvre, author of TOO MUCH GLUE and its upcoming companion, SO MUCH SLIME (September 2024). With a background in preschool education, it's clear that Jason totally "gets" the joy that kids feel when they are given room to create and get messy in an environment where it's okay to make a mistake.


Each of Jason's picture books feature a creative kiddo named Matty and his passion for hands-on messy fun! With vibrant illustrations by Zac Retz and kid-centric words like "COWABUNGA!" and "icky, sticky swamp!", this STEAM read-aloud is perfect for curious kids who love to experiment (and the understanding, patient adults who read to them!).


"When my kids ask to return to a favorite story over and over, I know it means their love of reading is growing."

Synopsis


Matty gets permission from his parents and his art teacher to do a slime demonstration at school! But when he forgets a key ingredient, the slime takes over and turns into an icky, sticky swamp! Matty's classmates try creative solutions to their sticky problem, but the swamp keeps spreading. Can they find the missing ingredient and save the slime?


Haus-hold picture book review kid questionnaire. The words that describe this book are: funny, adventure, MESSY! The ending: made me want to read it again, surprised me! What stood out to you the most? Action/events and pictures. Did you like it or love it? I LOVED it! What was your favorite thing about this book? ICKY STICKY SWAMP!


What my Kids Loved: What kid doesn't love slime?

My oldest enjoyed the how-to aspect of the book, particularly how adding "pizzaz" can enhance the slime. He also loved that the book includes a recipe for slime and was inspired to try his hand at creating a glow-in-the-dark batch (stay tuned for results).

My youngest asked to read this book over and over and over (and over and over...) again. He loved the "icky sticky swamp" refrain and the different approaches Matty's classmates took in their attempts to clean up the spreading mess. He also loved all the fun words like "cowabunga", "swoooooosh", and "kaboom".


Spread from the book. Matty dumps green slime onto the art room table as his classmates cheer. The teacher looks surprised.

What I Loved: As a mom, I get excited any time my children find a book that they want to read on repeat. It's so fun to watch them light up when choosing a bedtime story, no matter how many times we read the same book! When my kids ask to return to a favorite story over and over, I know it means their love of reading is growing. It's extra helpful when the book they want to read on repeat is fun and enjoyable for me! This book is easy to return to again and again.

I also loved that this book made my kids curious about slime and making things with their hands. Plus, the characters working together to solve the problem models critical thinking, experimentation, and perseverance, which I am all for!


As a writer, I appreciated Jason's use of word choice and sensory details to engage the reader. Lines like "But the sand creates a wave- SWOOOOOOSH- and soon I'm surfing in the icky, sticky swamp." immerse the reader in Matty's experience and keep little ones entertained throughout the entire story. Top it off with a delightfully fun ending, and we've got a winner!


My favorite lines:


"Look!" Owen says. "Felt letters are like tiny towels. Maybe these could soak up the swamp. A, B... Where's the C?"

"There's no time for A-B-C order!" Noah yells.

He flings felt letters at me until I'm in the eye of an alphabet storm.


Spread from the book. Matty is stuck in the slime on the table. His classmates throw felt letters into the slime to try and mop it up. It's an alphabet storm!

Final thoughts: Kids love slime. Period. It's fun to make and it feels super goopy! This book is an excellent companion to any slime-making activity and perfect for teaching cause and effect, multi-step processes, following a recipe, or the importance of working as a team. It's a great addition to any elementary or preschool classroom!


You can request SO MUCH SLIME from your local library or purchase from Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and other retailers- but don't forget to check your local independent bookstore first!

Comments


bottom of page