top of page
  • Writer's pictureJulie Hauswirth

Haus-hold Picture Book Review: A River of Dust

The Life-Giving Link Between North Africa and the Amazon


If you've read some of my previous reviews, you'll know that I'm a huge fan of Storytime Sprint. If you haven't heard of it before, Storytime Sprint is hosted by Ryann Jones and Andi Chitty. They invite debut authors to read their picture book on a live zoom call. Participants on the call then have 48 hours to SPRINT and share reviews of the book on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Goodreads. Those who submit reviews are entered into a prize drawing!

The cover of A RIVER OF DUST by Jilanne Hoffmann and Eugenia Mello. A blue sky, with an African elephant and grassland on the left, and red macaws and amazon greens on the right.

I had the immense pleasure of hearing Jilanne Hoffman read her beautiful book, A RIVER OF DUST, illustrated by Eugenia Mello, during a recent Storytime Sprint. Curled up in my jammies, Jilanne's gentle voice felt like a lullaby drifting over Eugenia's soft and colorful illustrations. Hearing this story read aloud and allowing myself to be swept up in the images brought me back to childhood, when my mother would read to me at bedtime.


As soon as Storytime Sprint ended, I reserved a copy from our local library so I could share it with my children. There's a 7-year age difference between them, but both boys found something to love.

It introduces an interesting topic and provides facts and details in a way that makes the very real river of dust feel otherworldly, yet tangible and close at the same time.

Synopsis


Long ago, the continents were connected as one. Today, continents are still connected, despite the oceans that separate them, by a river or dust. The dust of the Sahel travels thousands of miles to reconnect with the Amazon and nourish its rich ecosystem, a journey recounted here with lyricism and gratitude.


My Big Kid’s Honest Review:

Haus-hold picture book review kid questionnaire. Words that describe this book are True Story and Poetic. The ending: Surprised me. What stood out to you the most: action/events and pictures. Did you like it or love it? I loved it. What was your favorite part? I liked the information at the back of the book. It was fun to learn more about the dust.

What my Kids Loved: Both of my children were captivated by Eugenia Mello's illustrations. The little guy loved pointing out the animals that appear on various pages and tracing the river of dust with his fingers. The big guy reveled in the smaller details in the pictures- "that's what a baobab tree looks like!" and "do you see how many fish are hidden in the coral?" He also loved discovering new facts- for example, that there are more trees in the Amazon than stars in the Milky Way- by pointing out there's "no way that's true" and then finding out he was wrong. The book was long enough to entertain and teach, but short enough to hold the attention spans of both boys.


What I Loved: As a parent, the readability of this book is a treasure. It's perfect for bedtime with dreamy language woven through colorful and engaging pictures. It introduces an interesting topic and provides facts and details in a way that makes the very real river of dust feel otherworldly, yet tangible and close at the same time. I found myself mimicking Jilanne's cadence as I read it to my boys, glad that I'd heard it how it was intended to be read so I could share it with them in that way.


As a writer, I feel a little star-struck by this book and the talent of its author and illustrator (can you tell? I have the worst poker face). I love writing lyrical and evocative stories that captivate both child and adult and am working hard at honing my craft. I've found this book to be a wonderful study tool for voice, perspective, imagery, rhythm, and structure. It's truly a work of art.


My favorite lines:


"After a journey of thousands of miles,

I reach the Atlantic Ocean, which rises up,

swirls and foams, then stretches out to meet the sky.

But I have no time

to rest at the shore;

although bits of me scatter groundward,

I still have far to travel."


Final thoughts: What makes this book so remarkable is that tucked behind its bedtime appeal are facts and details gleaned from Hoffman's years of research, made accessible to young children through careful word choice and whimsical illustration. A book that delights and educates at the same time? Take my money.


You can request A River of Dust from from your local library, or purchase from Chronicle Books or from Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and other retailers- but don't forget to check your local independent bookstore first!

3件のコメント


Andi Chitty
Andi Chitty
2023年9月17日

Thanks for the StorytimeSprint shoutout, Julie! So glad you were able to join, Jilanne and Eugenia's book is so fascinating and eye-opening <3 I absolutely love your oldest's disbelief and denial over the tree/Milky Way fact, I cracked up reading that. I can relate, many of the facts are unbelievable! I so enjoy reading these Haus-hold reviews, great work!!

いいね!

Thelia Hutchinson
Thelia Hutchinson
2023年9月17日

Awesome job. What a great review. This book sounds wonderful. Thank you for sharing.

いいね!

jilannehoffmann
2023年9月15日

Oh, Julie, I am absolutely thrilled (and more than a little emotional) that you and your boys love A RIVER OF DUST! ❤️ Thank you for taking the time to review it! And I wish you all the best on your writing journey.

いいね!
bottom of page