top of page
  • Writer's pictureJulie Hauswirth

Creator Interview Plus a Giveaway: Ryann Jones

Co-Host of Storytime Sprint and One of the Nicest KidLit People You'll Ever Meet

"...remember who you are writing for and why you are writing. If it is not fun anymore it is okay to take breaks and maybe try another hobby for awhile. Whatever you choose, remember to find joy in the journey!"
Headshot of Ryann Jones, KidLit Author

I know Ryann through a mutual critique partner and from attending her amazing Storytime Sprint zooms, which she co-hosts with Andi Chitty. She's a member of the KidLit community that I really admire for her positivity, wealth of knowledge, and unending support for her fellow writers. So to say I was THRILLED when she agreed to do an interview for my blog is a huge understatement.


Ryann is a picture book author represented by Bethany Jett at the C.Y.L.E agency. She wrote her first picture book draft in October of 2021, and is currently on submission(!!!) and writing and revising other projects. Always up for a contest, Ryann has an impressive list of wins, including 50 Precious Words, Kidlit Vibes, Kidlit Zombie Week, and more. She was also chosen as a #PitchMe finalist in 2022. And to top it all off, she has a poem published in Little Thoughts Press magazine!


Ryann is generously offering a query critique, manuscript critique, or ask-me-anything call to one lucky reader- so make sure to read her entire interview for details on how to enter!

 

How did your journey as a KidLit creator begin?

I did not grow up wanting to be a writer. But after the birth of my second child I felt like I was just a mom. I didn’t know what I liked to do anymore outside of that. So I made a list of hobbies I could try. Writing a rhyming picture book was one of them. I had so much fun writing that book and figuring out the perfect words to make sentences match. It felt like solving a fun puzzle. Granted, I knew nothing about the different meters. So, let’s just say that first draft changed dramatically once I gained an ability to rhyme well. But it did get me interested in writing more picture books and joining 12x12!


What is your favorite thing about creating for children?

It helps me tap into my silly side. I get to think about what would make kids laugh . . . and then write it!


This is an industry full of high highs and low lows. What are some of the peaks and valleys you've experienced in your career?

Ooh it is a roller coaster for sure! One minute I am so excited about a competition that I won, the next I am bummed about another one I did not place in. Everything is so subjective and I have had to come to terms with that. More specifically though, I would say some memorable valleys were things like getting passes from agents after they asked to see more work or not getting a mentorship with an author I really wanted to work with. The peaks far outweigh the valleys though. The kidlit community is amazing! I have connected with so many wonderful people, taken awesome courses, had a poem published in a magazine, participated in tons of contests and even placed in some. I also was lucky enough to connect with my agent last year through a Twitter pitch event and now we are out on submission!


Do you have a "day job"? If so, what is it, and how do you create balance between your "day job" and your work as a creator?

I am a full-time chef, chauffeur, caregiver, and teacher. In other words, I am a mom! I find pockets of time to write during my kids' naps and when they go to bed. When I can’t physically be writing, I gather inspiration from kids. We also read SO MANY BOOKS! Which is great because it helps them learn new vocabulary and I get to research new picture books. It is a win-win situation.


Describe your perfect writing/illustrating/creating day.

Um . . . one of those Highlight retreats looks awesome. So maybe, that?


What motivates you to keep going when this industry gets you down?

The fact that I love doing what I do. At least my kids get to laugh at my punny jokes for now. But I also am grateful for the friends I have made in the kidlit community. We can share our frustrations but also motivate and uplift each other. I also kept reminding myself that I only needed one yes!


What is a favorite craft tip you'd like to share with other creators?

I personally like writing a pitch before I even start writing my manuscript. It helps me clearly flesh out what the motivation and stakes will be, plus it gives me direction on what needs to happen in the story to have a satisfying ending.


What are your top 3 favorite books of all time (any age range)?

WOW! Such a tough question. How about I do one PB, one MG, and one YA? Right now, top of mind is BUBBLE GUM BUBBLE GUM by Lisa Wheeler and Laura Huliska-Beith. So much fun to read aloud! And I love the Fablehaven series by Brandon Mull. And for YA I like Leigh Bardugo’s books. The Grisha Trilogy and Six of Crows duology in particular. (I know--sorry that is more than one!)


Who are some authors or illustrators that inspired your style as a creator?

I like the humor found in stories by Ross Burach. I like the informational fiction style with puns by Stacy McAnulty. I love the rhyming stories by Corey-Rosen Schwartz or Josh Funk. And I love the brilliant concept and wordplay in the Mustache Baby series written by Bridget Heos.


What advice do you have for someone considering starting their journey as a KidLit creator?

It helps to have a community in this roller coaster ride. Join programs or platforms where you can connect with others who are on the same ride. For me it was 12x12 and Twitter that helped me make the right connections. Also remember who you are writing for and why you are writing. If it is not fun anymore it is okay to take breaks and maybe try another hobby for awhile. Whatever you choose, remember to find joy in the journey!


Is there anything else about you, your career, or the industry that you'd like to share?

The KidLit community is amazing (like I said earlier). So many people give back by hosting contests, doing giveaways etc. One way I wanted to give back is to support debut picture book authors in getting more reviews and library purchase requests. So, Andi Chitty and I host a monthly 20-minute Zoom meeting, called Storytime Sprint, where the author reads their story, and we ask a couple questions. Then participants have 24 hours to go review that book to be entered into a drawing to win a prize from the debut author. It has been so fun, and I love getting to meet new people with incredible stories to tell! And Julie has been such a great supporter of this program and I am so happy she is starting this blog. I hope everyone subscribes and supports her back. She is amazing! Thanks for having me, Julie!


Thank YOU, Ryann! The KidLit community is lucky to have you, and I'm so excited that our paths have crossed.


Speed Round: This or That!

Let us get to know you better! Which do you prefer?

Summer or Winter?

Summer

Chocolate or Vanilla?

Vanilla

Playlists or Podcasts?

Podcasts

Text or Call?

Text

Unicorn or Dragon?

Unicorn

Ice Cream or Cake?

Ice Cream

Physical Books or E-Books?

Physical Books

Sunrise or Sunset?

Sunset

But Wait! There's a Giveaway!

Ryann is generously offering winner's choice of either a query critique, manuscript critique (<750 words, rhyming OK), or a 20-minute ask-me-anything call! To enter the giveaway, comment on this post with your name and email address so we can contact you if you win!


For extra entries, follow Ryann and Storytime Sprint on Twitter!


That's it! The giveaway closes on Tuesday, August 15th at 11:59pm.


Be sure to connect with Ryann through her website or find her on social media!

Twitter: @RyannJones117 IG: ryannjones117 FB: Ryann Jones Author Page


24 Comments


mdekker
Aug 24, 2023

Great interview! Just signed up for the Story Sprint emails too. :) Thanks for the crit opportunity. mdekker@pacbell.net

Like

karen
Aug 15, 2023

Great interview! karen@pictureperfectscience.com

Like

Thelia Hutchinson
Thelia Hutchinson
Aug 13, 2023

What a great interview. Vert inspiring. Thanks for sharing, Ryann. Great job, Julie.

Like
ryann.jones117
Aug 14, 2023
Replying to

Thanks Thelia! You are awesome!

Like

kamillab
Aug 13, 2023

I have been trying to try your tip about writing a pitch first... I thiink I need to practice pitches more in general! I'd love the chance to connect. kamillab@gmail.com

Like
ryann.jones117
Aug 14, 2023
Replying to

I am glad you have been trying it. Definitely takes practice and I am not perfect at it. But it definitely helps direct my story and make sure the stakes are high enough :)

Like

Portia.faith.richards
Aug 10, 2023

Portia Richards

Portia.faith.richards@gmail.com

Would love to pick your brain in a phone call.

Like
Julie Hauswirth
Julie Hauswirth
Aug 11, 2023
Replying to

Thanks for reading, Portia! I will email the winner and make an announcement on twitter on Wednesday, 8/16!

Like
bottom of page