top of page
  • Writer's pictureJulie Hauswirth

Creator Interview: Thelia Hutchinson

Always Ready to Support the Writing Community

Thelia Hutchinson

I met Thelia through Mighty KidLit, the free community for KidLit creatives hosted by Michele Ziemke. I'm not sure if there was any one moment where we "met" one another- rather, we both just started responding to each other's posts in the community and cheering each other on. Then we eventually found each other on Twitter, and now Thelia is someone I feel so lucky to know in this wide world of writing for children.


In addition to writing poetry, Thelia began writing for children in 2017 after the birth of her daughter. She writes board books and picture books, and is currently working on writing, revising, and querying her work.


"My daughter is my inspiration- she keeps me going every day."

While Thelia is not yet represented by a literary agent, she scored her first book deal

through a Twitter pitch event! Her debut picture book, MORE THAN YOU CAN IMAGINE is illustrated by Adriana Predoi and will be published in the spring of 2024 by Soaring Kite Books! To celebrate, Thelia is generously offering a giveaway- either a copy of her book OR a picture book manuscript critique! Read on for more details!

 

How did your journey as a KidLit creator begin?

I can say it belong a long time ago. Lol. I used to make up stories all the time with my younger brother. I would tell him stories at bedtime with the stuffed animals or make up stories with the soaps in the bathroom. My mom had a trio of soaps shaped like kittens and I would act out scenes with them. But it was definitely when my 7th grade teacher had us write a poem, that I actually started a poetry book. I wrote poetry here and there, with how I was feeling or what came to mind, but it was when my daughter was born, I went in full force.


What is your favorite thing about creating for children?

My favorite thing about creating for children is to bring the fun about it. I love to laugh. I want children to love reading like I do. The stories take you away. It can be fun or serious, but you are in a different world for a moment.


This is an industry full of high highs and low lows. What are some of the peaks and valleys you've experienced in your career?

I would have to say the support from the Kidlit community is the best high. I've met so many wonderful people that want you to succeed. Everyone has your back. The lows, can vary, but it is all a learning process. The rejections take their toll and you definitely question your craft and even if it is worth it continuing.


Do you have a "day job"? If so, what is it, and how do you create balance between your "day job" and your work as a creator?

Yes, I do have a day job. Well, I work overnight. LOL. I'm a registered nurse. I sleep in the daytime. Or at least I try to. Too much to do. I try to balance but it can be hard. I do get tired, but I write whenever I can. It happens any time of the day. Some days I don't write at all. The motivation is lacking but I try. I guess it's that imposter syndrome thing. If I know I have to buckle down, I do. Especially, when I have to work with my critique partners, or I have a fresh idea.


Describe your perfect writing/illustrating/creating day.

If there is such a thing as perfect writing day. LOL! Well, I have a cup of matcha or maybe a smoothie, my daughter may or may not be home. I would just sit at the computer and the words pour out. The story might not make sense, but I'm trying. I would love a set couple of hours to be creative. Of course, creativity can strike anytime, so I have to be ready.


What motivates you to keep going when this industry gets you down?

I would have to say, I keep going because I have stories to tell and would love others to read. My daughter is my inspiration, she keeps me going every day. It is a sense of accomplishment that you work for to see your dreams materialize into reality.


What is a favorite craft tip you'd like to share with other creators?

Thelia Hutchinson

Just keep writing. Keep a notepad with our or even a recorder nearby. Those ideas come at any time. You have to be ready. I have had my share of ideas and I was not prepared. I cannot tell you how many ideas I lost. LOL!!


What are your top 3 favorite books of all time (any age range)?

This is so hard to choose. My memory always to brings me back Tikki Tikki Tembo by Arlene Mosel. I love Mel Fell by Corey Tabor. The Sweet Valley High series. Amelia Bedelia. I told you, I cannot choose.


Who are some authors or illustrators that inspired your style as a creator?

I read everyone. I feel like you can learn from everyone. it's hard to say. I'm all over the place. I read every genre. Ame Dykeman, Daine Murray, Judy Blume, Christopher Denise, Eric Carle, Mo Willems to name a few.


What advice do you have for someone considering starting their journey as a KidLit creator?

Try to stay positive and do not give up. Keep writing. Read mentor texts, get critique partners, take classes, join organizations. However, you cannot participate in everything, or you will not have time to write. If you need to take a break, DO IT! Then come back fresh.


Tell us about your book deal! How did you pitch your book to Soaring Kite Books?

I actually participated in a Twitter pitch event in September 2022. I think it was new. I almost didn't do it. It was the end of the day, and the event was almost over. I was like, what do I have to lose? I was having no luck with Twitter pitch events, so I was surprised when I received a heart from from the publisher at Soaring Kite Books.

Thelia Hutchinson Twitter Pitch that scored her a heart from a publisher

I sent over my manuscript and the publisher contacted me saying she wanted to publish it. I was shocked. We set up a zoom and talked about the process, and she then sent over the contract, and I reviewed and signed.


This is so exciting! What is your book about?

It is a lyrical ode I wrote for my daughter expressing my love for her and being there for her. The title is MORE THAN YOU IMAGINE, and it's scheduled for Spring 2024. It's illustrated by Adriana Predoi. She did an amazing job. I'm looking forward to when I can share the cover.

Thelia Hutchinson Publisher's Marketplace deal report

Congratulations, Thelia! I'm so looking forward to your debut!


Speed Round: This or That!

Let us get to know you better! You must pick ONE- no "I don't know" or "neither" allowed! Ready... Go!

Summer or Winter?

Summer

Chocolate or Vanilla?

Vanilla

Cats or Dogs?

Dogs

Playlists or Podcasts?

Playlists

Text or Call?

Text

Unicorn or Dragon?

Unicorn

Ice Cream or Cake?

Cake

Physical Books or E-Books?

Physical Books

Coffee or Tea?

Tea

Sunrise or Sunset?

Sunset

It's Giveaway time!

Thelia is generously offering winner's choice of either a copy of her debut picture book, MORE THAN YOU IMAGINE, OR a picture book manuscript critique! To enter the giveaway, comment on this post with your name and email (so we can contact you if you win).


For extra entries in the giveaway:

  • Follow Thelia on Twitter @TheliaHutchins1

  • Follow Thelia on Instagram @thelia341

  • Subscribe to my mailing list

  • SHARE this post on Twitter!

Giveaway closes on Tuesday, August 29th at 11:59pm EST. The winner will be announced on Twitter and contacted via email on Wednesday, August 30th!

255 views23 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page