top of page
  • Writer's pictureJulie Hauswirth

Creator Interview Plus a Giveaway: Michele Ziemke

Author/Illustrator and Host of Mighty KidLit

Mighty KidLit Logo by Michele Ziemke

Michele was one of the very first people I ever interacted with in the kidlit community. As host of Mighty KidLit, she facilitates workshops, contests, giveaways, critiques, and so much more... and the community she has built there is welcoming and encouraging to kidlit creators from new to veteran and everywhere in between.


Michele Ziemke holds her dog Chloe

Michele writes and illustrates picture books, middle grade, and graphic novels, and has been creating for over seven years. She is represented by Joyce Sweeney from The Seymour Agency and recently signed a contract to illustrate a picture book for a self-publishing author!


A super cool brag about Michele? In addition to landing her dream agent, running the amazing Mighty KidLit community, and winning writing contests, a student art gallery has been named after her!


"...the award that has touched my heart the most is the naming of a student art gallery in my honor! After years of persistence, collaboration, and hard work, my dream of having an arts academy for my students became a reality! The Michele Ziemke Student Art Gallery is in Sandusky, Ohio at the Regional Center for Advanced Academic and Arts Studies."

I could brag about Michele's kindness and generosity for this entire post! But I will let her do the talking. Make sure you read to the very end for details about Michele's giveaway!

 

How did your journey as a KidLit creator begin?

I began making up stories at bedtime for my children (who are now in their late 30’s), who shared those same ridiculous stories to their kids! When teaching elementary art, there weren’t very many books to help little children understand art concepts, so I made up stories into lesson plans! Now that I’m retired, creating stories with humor and heart has become my passion.


What is your favorite thing about creating for children?

I write because children need to know how they can be the best version of themselves!


This is an industry full of high highs and low lows. What are some of the peaks and valleys you've experienced in your career?

Illustration of Zebra and foal by Michele Ziemke

Do you mean weekly? 😂 Every week has its highs and lows, but my passion for writing and creating, knowing I can have a positive impact on children’s lives, keeps me going! Just when I feel like throwing in the towel, I would win a contest, or receive a great critique. When I received 100’s of ❤️ on a #PBPitch on Twitter, I finally got my dream agent. Joyce is always supportive and keeps me motivated and positive!


Do you have a "day job"? If so, what is it, and how do you create balance between your "day job" and your work as a creator?

My new “day job” is Mighty KidLit! Sometimes I become so involved in what I can do for others, that I put aside what I need to be doing on my projects. It’s a reflection of being a teacher for 25 years! As the members claim more ownership in the community and begin to lead some of the activities, it will not only create more balance for myself, but the community will be even better and stronger with their input and passions!


Describe your perfect writing/illustrating/creating day.

Oh gosh! I begin my day scrolling through social media and emails while still in bed. Waking up to posts on Mighty KidLit always makes me smile. After the usual morning routine of making the bed and coffee, I sit down with my iPad and draft or revise words or illustrations. If I can have lunch with a friend, or talk on the phone with a fellow creative, it’s a perfect day! Oh wait - I’m living the dream!!!! #Blessed


Illustration of a young girl holding a bird by Michele Ziemke

What motivates you to keep going when this industry gets you down?

Everyone has a “Big Why”. Once you know WHY you write for children, it becomes the core of every story and keeps you going!


What is a favorite craft tip you'd like to share with other creators?

When you have an idea for a story, let it simmer while you develop who your characters are. What are their wants, needs, and dreams? After awhile, these characters find their way to a page, either in words or pictures.


Who are some authors or illustrators that inspired your style as a creator?

Cori Doerrfeld, Tara Lazar, and Brian Lies. Not only are they talented, but genuine and generous!

Illustration of dog enjoying a car ride by Michele Ziemke

What advice do you have for someone considering starting their journey as a KidLit creator?

Take as many classes on the art of writing and/or illustrating as you can afford. One class you don’t want to miss is Renee’s Lyrical Language Lab. It will change how you play with words intrinsically!


Is there anything else about you, your career, or the industry that you'd like to share?

My passion to give back to this amazing picture book community was the heart behind Mighty KidLit. I wanted a place for creators to grow and feel encouraged in a safe place without judgement, spam, and advertising.


Speed Round: This or That!

Let us get to know you better! You must pick ONE- no "I don't know" or "neither" allowed! Ready... Go!

Summer or Winter?

​Summer

Chocolate or Vanilla?

Chocolate

Cats or Dogs?

Dogs

Playlists or Podcasts?

Playlists

Text or Call?

Call

Unicorn or Dragon?

Unicorn

Ice Cream or Cake?

Ice Cream

Physical Books or E-Books?

Physical Books

Coffee or Tea?

Coffee

Sunrise or Sunset?

Sunrise

Giveaway Time!

Michele is generously offering winner's choice of a Manuscript Critique (non-rhyming picture book under 700 words OR first chapter of a MS) or a Brainstorming Session. To enter the giveaway, comment on this post with your name and e-mail (so we can contact you if you win!). Subscribe to my mailing list and join Mighty KidLit using this link for extra entries!


Giveaway closes on Tuesday, July 18th at 11:59pm EST.


Mighty KidLit is a completely free community for KidLit creatives that is my personal favorite resource. At the time this post was published, the community had 304 members and is growing- but still feels small, close-knit, and supportive.


You can follow Michele on Twitter @ZiemkeMichele or find her in Mighty KidLit!

18件のコメント


Nicole Garnett
Nicole Garnett
2023年7月18日

Love this! Congrats on your first interview Julie!! Mighty Kid Lit is an awesome resource I plan to start using more! Thank you!

いいね!
Julie Hauswirth
Julie Hauswirth
2023年7月19日
返信先

Thank you so much, Nicole!!

いいね!

Steena Hernandez
Steena Hernandez
2023年7月15日

Enjoyed this interview, and I can say that Michele gives wonderful critiques! :) Thank you for sharing!

いいね!
Julie Hauswirth
Julie Hauswirth
2023年7月18日
返信先

Thank you, Steena! Michele is pretty great 😍

いいね!

Ellen
Ellen
2023年7月13日

I really enjoyed getting to know Michele. Julie asks great questions. Michele, I learned so much from your answers. I am new to mighty kidlit, but I can already see what a warm community is.


いいね!
Julie Hauswirth
Julie Hauswirth
2023年7月18日
返信先

I'm so glad you joined Mighty KidLit, Ellen!!

いいね!

siouxlandfamiliesblog
2023年7月13日

That floofy dog is so adorable!

If I win, siouxlandfamiliesblog @ gmail

I

いいね!

kamillab
2023年7月13日

Wonderful interview! I love the diversity of work you're creating. kamillab@gmail.com

いいね!
bottom of page