top of page
  • Writer's pictureJulie Hauswirth

Creator Interview Plus a Giveaway: Christine Alemshah

Author, Mother, and Host of the #GrowYourWriting Creator Interview Series

"I can't control anyone else's journey or what goes on in the publishing world. What I can control is honing my craft, revising, and submitting my work."

Mother to two spirited tiny dancers, Christine Alemshah writes children's picture books that champion innovation, music, and her bi-racial Filipino-American heritage. Her debut picture books, DUMPSTER DIVING WITH LOLA and FROM FAYE, WITH LOVE, the first two in a seven-book series, will release with Free Spirit Publishing in Winter 2025.

Headshot of Christine Alemshah

Let me mention that again:


Seven.

Book.

Series!!!


SEVEN!


Can we get a round of applause for Christine? GOALS.


A creator all her life, Christine began writing KidLit in 2010. She writes board books, picture books, and young adult, and is represented by Vicky Weber of The Purcell Agency. With that seven-book deal in the bag, she's currently on submission with other projects and writing and revising new work.


Christine has a fantastic interview series and challenge called #GrowYourWriting, which you can find on her website christinealemshah.com. I feel so honored that Christine agreed to do this interview and I can't wait for you to get to know her better!


Make sure you read all the way through for some amazing tips for writers and inspiration from Christine's writing journey. There's a giveaway, too: Christine is offering one lucky winner their choice of either an Ask-Me-Anything call or a Brainstorming Session!

 

How did your journey as a KidLit creator begin?

I'd always wanted to create children's picture books. In fact, I discovered my passion for publishing picture books in the 4th grade. I had the opportunity to write, illustrate, and bind my first picture book. I was so fascinated with the bookbinding machine. Of course, growing up, my writing path meandered and stalled many times, but that dream stuck with me. In 2010, I began to pursue KidLit more seriously, and I haven't looked back since.


What is your favorite thing about creating for children?

Can I answer "everything" on this one? I love picture books and delicious-unputdownable YA novels. I'm passionate about picture books, music, and working with children. I love reading them to and with children, interacting with stories, and finding something new each time I read one- it's magical! I'm all about innovation and thinking outside the box. I love the puzzle of creating new stories. I'm grateful to be part of the KidLit world and even more honored to be a KidLit creator.


This is an industry full of high highs and low lows. What are some of the peaks and valleys you've experienced in your career?

Getting my Agent and first book deal this year was a peak. I inched up the mountain slowly but eventually made it up! The valley I've experienced so far came after having kids and taking a long but much-needed mental break away from writing. I came back ready and rested to scale the mountain once more!


Do you have a "day job"? If so, what is it, and how do you create balance between your "day job" and your work as a creator?

My day job for the past six years is Mama, CEO of our household. It's incredible how much work that entails! I squeeze in my creative time while the children are at school or, if my schedule is particularly tight, during the wee hours of the morning when I'm the only one awake.


Describe your perfect writing/illustrating/creating day.

I've driven the children to school and they are happy to be there. I'm sitting on a chaise lounge under a cozy blanket sipping a chai tea latte with my laptop and severally neatly arranged favorite picture books scattered about. My PB writing playlist is on repeat and I'm gazing out at the world through my favorite picture window as I write.


What motivates you to keep going when this industry gets you down?

Staying focused on things I can control. I can't control anyone else's journey or what goes on in the publishing world. What I can control is honing my craft, revising, and submitting my work. Focusing on those things helps when everything else is topsy-turvy.


What is a favorite craft tip you'd like to share with other creators?

Always keep an open mind and keep learning and honing your craft.


What are your top 3 favorite books of all time (any age range)?

Stars by Mary Lyn Ray and Marla Frazee, Watercress by Andrea Wang and Jason Chin, The Camelot Rising Trilogy by Kiersten White


Who are some authors or illustrators that inspired your style as a creator?

Lynnor Bontigao, Carter Higgins, Deborah Underwood, Kat Yeh, Jon Sciescka, Joanna Ho, Andrea Wang, and Jason Chin


What advice do you have for someone considering starting their journey as a KidLit creator?

Research the online KidLit community in whatever space you are comfortable with. Whether it be through connecting with a critique group, finding writing courses, reading KidLit blogs, listening to KidLit inspired podcasts, joining a community (through Instagram, Twitter (X), discord, etc.), or watching KidLit inspired videos, these things will help inspire a spark in you to find a starting place for your KidLit journey. Feel free to try multiple things and pursue the paths that resonate with you while saying no to others. I learned that I only have so much bandwidth, and while some things worked for me, others did not.


Thank you so much for sharing your journey to publication! I cannot wait to see your first two books hit the shelves in 2025!


Speed Round: This or That!

Let us get to know you better! You must pick ONE- no "I don't know" or "neither" allowed! Ready... Go!

Summer or Winter?

Summer

Chocolate or Vanilla?

Chocolate

Cats or Dogs?

Dogs

Playlists or Podcasts?

Playlists

Text or Call?

Text

Unicorn or Dragon?

Unicorn

Ice Cream or Cake?

Ice Cream

Physical Books or E-Books?

Physical Books

Coffee or Tea?

Tea

Sunrise or Sunset?

Sunrise

It's Giveaway Time!

Christine is generously offering one lucky winner their choice of an Ask-Me-Anything Call or a Brainstorming Session! To enter the giveaway, comment on this post with your name and email address so we can contact you if you win!


For an extra entry, share this post on Twitter (X)!


That's it! The giveaway closes on Tuesday, October 17th at 11:59pm.


Be sure to connect with Christine through her website or find her on Twitter (X) and Instagram: @C_Alemshah

7 Σχόλια


Sheri Bentley
Sheri Bentley
16 Οκτ 2023

Wow! Amazing!

Sheri Bentley

birthdaygirl925@gmail.com

Μου αρέσει

Stephanie Writes For Kids
Stephanie Writes For Kids
14 Οκτ 2023

A seven-book deal is incredible. What a story! Thanks for sharing about your journey. stephaniewritesforkids at gmail dot com

Μου αρέσει

Bri Lawyer
Bri Lawyer
12 Οκτ 2023

Seven book deal! That's so exciting! I wish you the best of luck with your other projects you're working on too. Thanks for sharing Julie and Christina!

Μου αρέσει

Thelia Hutchinson
Thelia Hutchinson
12 Οκτ 2023

Excellent! So great to hear from you Christine. Congratulations on your success.

Μου αρέσει

Lori Keating
Lori Keating
11 Οκτ 2023

Love this 💕

Μου αρέσει
bottom of page