top of page
  • Writer's pictureJulie Hauswirth

Haus-hold Picture Book Review: Night Market Rescue

Who Rescued Who?


Don't read this book if you are even *slightly* considering adopting a pet. Seriously. Because this story will make your heart explode and push you over the edge. My kids have been wanting a dog for quite some time, so maybe I shouldn't have let them pick this one... but I couldn't help it. They had me at "rescue".


"The very last page made me feel it in my heart." - My son, 9, when he closed the book

Synopsis


GoGo the pup is a stray who lives all alone on the streets of Taipei. One day, he follows his nose to the night market, where he meets a friend for the very first time. While helping his new friend find her family could mean loneliness again for GoGo, he knows what he has to do.


My Big Kid’s Honest Review:

What my Kids Loved: Both children want a dog. GoGo is adorable, drawn by Amber Ren in such a way that he looks familiar, like he could be waiting for us at our local shelter. Now my kids want GoGo. But they also loved the market just as much, brought to life by both Cheng's lyrical voice and Ren's colorful illustrations.


What I Loved: This story was fun to read to my kids. The text and pictures play with one another in a way that sounds like a song bouncing across the pages. Charlotte Cheng's imagery makes the sounds and smells of the night market pop off the page, and the way Ren's illustrations are illuminated with the dim glow of the market lights makes this a cozy read.


My favorite lines:


"So he dives into the bustle

and he weaves through rumbling scooters,

sampling tasty, tender sausage bites

while slurping ginger tea."


I would like to go do that too, please.


Final thoughts: This book has all the feel-good, sing-song language of a lullaby, made even more memorable by the "who rescued who" theme and inviting illustrations. If you're an animal-loving family looking for something with emotional resonance, this is your book.


You can purchase Night Market Rescue from Penguin Random House or from Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and other retailers- but don't forget to check your local independent bookstore first!

25 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


Thelia Hutchinson
Thelia Hutchinson
Aug 26, 2023

The cover picture is very engaging. I do have a dog. I will check this one out. Thanks Julie

Like
bottom of page